Louisiana Car Seat Laws

February 10, 2022 | Uncategorized

Securing your child in a car seat is crucial to keeping them safe when traveling. The National Highway Traffic Safety Administration (NHTSA) reports car seats saved the lives of 325 children under age five in one recent year. Another report states approximately 35 percent of all children under age 14 who died in car accidents were not wearing their seat belts.

Using a car seat is not just recommended; it’s required by law in Louisiana. The Baton Rouge car accident lawyers at Tomeny | Best Injury Lawyers are committed to protecting everyone in our community, particularly our children. To help, we’ve provided the following information on Louisiana’s car seat and booster seat laws. 

Car Seat Laws for Adults in Louisiana

According to the Louisiana Legislature, here are the essential laws concerning when adults have to wear seat belts:

  • All drivers and occupants in a passenger car, van, SUV, or truck that weighs less than 26,000 pounds made after January 1, 1981, must always wear a seat belt when the vehicle is in motion.
  • Drivers may only have as many passengers as there are seat belts. For example, you cannot put six people in a car with only five seat belts.

Child Car Seat and Booster Seat Laws in Louisiana

Louisiana child car seat and booster seat laws include the following:

  • All children must meet Louisiana child car seat, booster seat, and seat belt requirements until they reach the height and weight limits set by the seat’s manufacturer.
  • Children under the age of two must ride in a rear-facing safety seat. 
  • Children aged two to four must use a forward-facing safety seat.
  • Children aged four to nine must use a booster seat that fits with the vehicle’s seat belt.
  • Children can use a standard seat belt at nine years old, as long as it fits properly. 
  • Children must ride in the vehicle’s back seat until they reach age 13.
  • All safety seats, booster seats, and seat belts must meet federal safety standards.

Penalties for Violating Car Seat Laws

If you’re an adult driver or passenger, not wearing your seat belt could lead to a fine of $50 plus court costs for a first offense. The fine increases with additional offenses.

Not putting your child in the right car seat can lead to steeper penalties. The fine for a first offense is $100, $250-$500 for a second offense, and $500 plus court costs for a third or subsequent offense.

Contact an Experienced Car Accident Attorney in Baton Rouge, LA Today

As a parent, your child’s safety is always on your mind. While you can take all of the safety precautions in the world, you also depend on others to act responsibly. If a negligent driver injured you or your child, know that you have the right to seek accountability and justice. 

After a car accident in Louisiana, turn to the Baton Rouge personal injury attorneys at Tomeny | Best Injury Lawyers for the qualified legal representation you deserve. Reach out by phone, contact form, or live chat, and we’ll provide you with a free consultation to discuss your case. 

  • national trial lawyers top 100
  • Avvo
  • Legal Leaders
  • Super Lawyers
  • NBTA
  • AV Preeminent
Simple Share Buttons
Simple Share Buttons