What Is Louisiana’s “No Pay, No Play” Car Accident Law?
Louisiana auto insurance laws require drivers purchase minimum amounts of liability coverage. But according to the latest statistics from the Insurance Institute for Highway Safety, nearly 12 percent of Louisiana drivers still hit the roads uninsured. The legislature passed the “No Pay, No Play” car accident law to discourage motorists from breaking this law.
The “No Pay, No Play” Louisiana statute prevents uninsured owners and operators from recovering the money they may otherwise be entitled to after an accident. Specifically, it prohibits uninsured drivers from recovering the first $15,000 in bodily injury compensation and the first $25,000 in property damages, even if the other driver is at fault.
At Tomeny | Best Injury Lawyers, we’ve seen how Louisiana accident laws can both benefit and hurt crash victims. The “No Pay, No Play” law can reduce or even eliminate the vital compensation victims need to pay their bills and rebuild their lives. The good news is that there are some exceptions to the rule. A skilled personal injury lawyer from our law firm may be able to help you.
Call or contact us today to learn how “No Pay, No Play” may affect your car accident case. The first consultation is free.
“No Pay, No Play” Law and Uninsured Drivers
Louisiana Revised Statutes Title 32, Section 866, may prevent uninsured drivers from recovering from a portion of the money they could be entitled to after a motor vehicle collision. Auto insurance laws in Louisiana mandate that drivers have at least 15/30/25 liability coverage. This stands for $15,000 for bodily injury, $30,000 for bodily injury per accident, and $25,000 in property damage coverage.
Motorists choose to drive uninsured for various reasons. They may not be able to afford insurance or feel that monthly payments are wasted on the possible chance of being involved in a crash. But failing to purchase car insurance can have serious adverse consequences if an accident occurs. Under the “No Pay No Play” statute, injured drivers could miss out on critical compensation to account for medical expenses, lost wages, and other losses after an accident ― no matter who is to blame. Uninsured drivers also open themselves up to lawsuits from injured victims and could lose their driving privileges altogether.
Exceptions to the Law
There are some exceptions to the “No Pay, No Play” rule. These include:
- Passengers: Typically exempt, allowing them to recover compensation for any injuries. May not apply if the passenger owns the car.
- Out-of-state drivers: May be able to pursue full compensation even if they are uninsured.
- Legally parked cars: Exempt from “No Pay, No Play.”
- Uninsured drivers: Exempt if certain conditions apply. If an uninsured Louisiana motorist is involved in an accident with an intoxicated driver, a hit-and-run driver, or someone who intentionally causes or is committing a felony at the time of the accident, the “No Pay, No Play” law may not apply.
Importance of Consulting with an Injury Lawyer
After an accident, Louisiana’s “No Pay No Play” law can have serious consequences for drivers. But a lawyer can review the facts, explain Louisiana accident laws, and let you know if any exceptions could help you. They will also explore other options and negotiate for the compensation you need.
At Tomeny | Best Injury Lawyers, we’re proud of the results we’ve obtained and the work we do for clients every day. If you suffered injuries in a Baton Rouge car accident, don’t wait to get the experienced legal advice and personal touch you deserve. Contact us now for a free consultation.